Daniel Fast

13 Jan

I started the Daniel Fast last week. I was a little anxious about doing it as so many foods were cut from my diet. The first few days were awful. My head throbbed from the lack of caffiene. My body ached from the detox. On day three I wondered how much longer I could carry on, and, if these aches were going to last the whole time. This evening, at the end of day six, I have to say that I feel great. The head and body pains left me by the evening of day four. I now have lots of energy, even in late afternoon, which is usually my “I need a coffee injection” time of the day. I’m not feeling the need for coffee at all. I actually feel really good!

Food wise, so far, I’ve only found one thing that I’ve not liked, and that was a snack – almond butter balls. I’ve tried some really nice food, such as Rice, Sweet Potato and Bean Soup, Hummus Casserole, Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, Pineapple Muffins and Fig, Pear and Walnut Salad. I used to think to myself “what do vegans eat?” Let’s say that my eyes have been opened! I’ve really been thinking about the food that goes into my body. I think when the fast is over I will continue to use some of the recipes in my weekly diet, and have a largely vegetarian diet.

The first few days I got hungry a lot and it tortured me to give food to the kids that I couldn’t eat. I’m definitely less hungry now. Spiritually, I’ve not put the time in that I should have, so far. We started homeschool back this week, so that generally means an all over the place week, until we are back into routine. I feel like God has spoken into a couple of situations that we’ve prayed about. I’ve also become aware that I need to journal more. I’m hoping to connect more with God this coming week.

On a side note, I tried Quinoa tonight, for the first time, and loved it. The kids ate it without complaining too!

4 Responses to “Daniel Fast”

  1. Heidi January 14, 2012 at 07:59 #

    Yay, so glad you’ve gotten over the tough part and are reaping the benefits! It is pretty amazing how many delicious vegan recipes are out there, and how incredible the variety is. I find too that on a very clean vegan diet (no vegan junk food), I need less sleep, and like you I have no afternoon slump. Way to go on being strong and not giving up! (We love quinoa in this house too!)

  2. lynhallewell January 14, 2012 at 15:07 #

    Thanks! The variety really is amazing. And, we both lost that bloated feeling we used to have. I think that is probably due to the gluten?

  3. Heidi January 14, 2012 at 18:55 #

    I find I most definitely have less bloat on a plant-based diet, and I think gluten does factor in, but sometimes that bloating thing mystifies me!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wednesday Link List « Thinking Out Loud - January 18, 2012

    […] few years an Evangelical/Charismatic fad diet blows into the Christian culture.  Lyn Hallewell has embarked on The Daniel Fast. Hopefully future blog posts will keep readers up to […]

Leave a Reply

