Five Minute Friday – Trust

10 Feb

 

    1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
    2. Link back at The Gypsy Mama and invite others to join in.
    3. Please visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them.
    Today’s word is:
    Trust
Copyright Lyn Hallewell

Go!


To trust someone is to let them into your life and heart and have confidence that they will be for you, to believe the best in them. When that trust is broken it is harder next time to completely trust the next person, a small wall goes up around ourselves, and if, repeatedly, trust is broken then the wall gets larger and larger. We learn to rely on ourselves.


To trust is also to have faith. I liken this to trusting in God. I trust and have faith that he will continually guide and lead my family and I. I believe that he has our best interest at heart. That is probably the difference between trusting in God and man. Most people, eventually, put their interests above yours, whereas I don’t believe God does that. Sure, sometimes he’s awfully quiet and doesn’t seem to be moving as quick as I think he should. That’s when I really need to slow down and trust Him, rather than try and help Him out and speed up the process. God is sufficient for me and will never forsake me. His ways are good, though they are not always my ways! In my weakness He is strong. He has always come through for me and never let me down. Sure, the end result has not always looked like how I had imagined it would, but that is having faith and believing in God. I trust in Him for today and for my future, because, He has continually shown me that he is trustworthy. With Him I have no walls (that I’m aware of!).


Stop!


Your Turn 🙂


Image is copyright of Lyn Hallewell, do not reproduce without permission

 

5 Responses to “Five Minute Friday – Trust”

  1. roseann elliott February 10, 2012 at 10:32 #

    hi neighbor…yes ..your post makes me think of test me try me…He do always show Himself faithful…Blessings to you…may we walk with no walls between us and God…

  2. Kristin Smith (@kasmith03) February 10, 2012 at 10:48 #

    This has been a lesson for me recently…having faith in people that make promises and break them…promises that now broken place my family in a very difficult and uncomfortable place. I am frustrated but again and reminded that my faith should be in God not in man. So today I am trusting Him with my security even when I don’t feel we have any!! Thanks for sharing your perspective on trust today!!

  3. lynhallewell February 10, 2012 at 10:53 #

    Amen to that!

  4. lynhallewell February 10, 2012 at 11:04 #

    I am so sorry that your family is in a difficult situation right now. This is never a nice place to be. I pray that God will fill you with peace. May He guide you and open a new path for you and provide for all of your needs. May he carry your burdens for you. May He shower you with blessings.

    Hang in there and keep your eyes fixed upon Him. I don’t know you or your situation, but as I’ve been eriting this I felt that this is a scripture for you today – Hebrews 12:1-3

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I didn’t ask you to trust me. I trust me. « Jan Deelstra - March 2, 2012

    […] Five Minute Friday – Trust (lynhallewell.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLinkedInStumbleUponPinterestTumblrMoreDiggRedditEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

