Five Minute Friday – Delight

17 Feb

It’s time for another Five Minute Friday! Write for five minutes, no editing, and then link back at The Gypsy Mama

Today’s word is:

Delight

Go!

I’ve been thinking about my kids a lot this week, about how proud I am of them and how much I delight in them. It’s kind of been a trip down memory lane. I’ve been thinking about them as babies, then toddlers, pre-schoolers and so on. Here I am now with a son who is months away from his teenage years and a daughter who might as well be there too (hormones!). 

I’ve been thinking about special names they’ve had for things over the years and toys they couldn’t bear to be parted from. My son would sleep with his wooden Thomas trains at night for some time! My daughter’s doll, Lucy, is well loved and I can see her being given to her own daughter some day.

I’ve been thinking about the places we’ve been to and the things we’ve seen together. Things I could only dream of as a child. What a rich life they have had so far.

We have seen both the challenges and rewards of home educating. The thing I delight from in home educating is that I get to see their progress first hand. My son has Aspergers and my daughter has a visual processing disorder, so some school work has challenged them. My daughter has struggled to learn to read, it has taken years to get there, but she is flying now! I look at her and think “we conquered this together” and I delight in that.

“Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you your heart’s desires” Psalm 37:4 (NLT)

Stop!

Image above copyright of Lyn Hallewell, do not use without permission

2 Responses to “Five Minute Friday – Delight”

  1. Colline February 17, 2012 at 12:39 #

    Seeing our children progress is definately a delight – makes all the sacrifices we make for them well worth it.

  2. lynhallewell February 17, 2012 at 19:40 #

    It certainly does!

Leave a Reply

